• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

HOA response to appeal: more than 90 days from date of appeal letter.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

kharvel

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Washington State

Hello,

Here's the back story: I live in a single-family residential home in a community governed by a HOA. The HOA is called Renton Liberty Ridge HOA (http://www.rentonlibertyridge.com). You can see the CC&R and architectural approval committee (AAC) documentation there. Anyway, I studied the CC&R and AAC and did not see any restrictions or prohibitions on artificial grass so I proceeded to install the artificial grass in my front yard without securing prior approval from the HOA Board AAC. The HOA later declared the artificial grass to be in conflict with the AAC guidelines and directed me to remove the artificial grass. They specifically stated that the artificial grass was "too green" and "the color of the turf does not have a consistent look and stands out" (as an aside, does Washington State prohibit selective enforcement of HOA rules on any basis?).

I appealed the HOA decision to the board on 7/6/2012. I did not get a response from the board until 10/22/2012. According to Section 9(b) of the CC&R, the HOA board was supposed to schedule a hearing on the appeal not more than 45 days after the receipt of my written notice. Furthermore, the board was supposed to provide a written notice to me of the time and location of the appeals hearing. Section 9(b) also gives more information what the board and the appellant are supposed to do prior to the hearing.