• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Customer Refuses to Pay Balance

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

R

RHI

Hello, I am a general contractor from Minnesota. I worked on a customers deck and railing last fall (2000.) After the customer refused to pay the outstanding balance with me, I halted work on the project. This June I returned and completed the project thinking that the customer would then be obligated to settle the balance. Customer never returned several phone calls, mailed 2 letters to homeowner and finally I got a response when I threatened to place a lein on their house. They still refuse to pay because " the work took so long to complete"

Question..... CAN I legally lein this customer? It has been nearly a year since the project was started and almost 6 months since it's completion. Also.... their was no written contract between myself and the customer. There are however several documents with MY and THEIR handwriting discussing prices, materials and labor costs.

I only did this because these NIGHTMARE customers were friends of a good friend of mine.

I really appreciate your input..... thanks in advance!

R

RHI

come on people...... don' just read the posts. Please offer some advice. Thanks :)

R

RHI

I had surfed your site for nearly 2 hours before I posted this thread..... obviously I didn't find anything realted to the unique situation that I have. Perhaps you could direct me to a SPECIFIC area. I mean, come on......
"Advice: read the use intructions on this webiste" How incredibly more vague could you be??