• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Lien or law suit?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

D

Drywall Man

What is the name of your state? Michigan
I am a small drywall contractor, and I was hoping you could inform me whether I was better off filing a mechanics lien, or just going to small claims court, to collect $235.00 owed to me, for completing the drywall in a garage for another contractor. He says that he wont pay me because some tools are missing from the jobsite.(I had nothing to do with the missing tools).I dont have much money to begin with, and this is not much that we are talking about either, but it is owed to me, and I want it! What should I do? :confused:

HomeGuru

Drywall Man said:
What is the name of your state? Michigan
I am a small drywall contractor, and I was hoping you could inform me whether I was better off filing a mechanics lien, or just going to small claims court, to collect $235.00 owed to me, for completing the drywall in a garage for another contractor. He says that he wont pay me because some tools are missing from the jobsite.(I had nothing to do with the missing tools).I dont have much money to begin with, and this is not much that we are talking about either, but it is owed to me, and I want it! What should I do? :confused:
**A: forget the lien route as your legal fees and court costs would be a lot more.

D

Drywall Man

Tired of getting screwed!