• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Married but living apart (not legally separated) Chapter 7

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Mar12

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? KY

My spouse and I cannot get a divorce right now because we don't have the money. We tried to file a chapter 7 bankruptcy months ago and they said we'd need to do a chapter 13. I have been toying with divorcing since 2008. Getting a bankruptcy was going to be part of our plan for divorce. We can't afford that, in fact I only have about 180.00 to my name. I have moved out and I pay my own car insurance, car payment, cell phone, etc and I live now with a relative. I have changed my address as well. We get our child each 3.5 days out of the week so neither of us pay the other support or maintenance, my husband is living in the house, I don't want it...he can have it and he pays the mortgage, always has. I am on the title to our home, but not the mortgage as I had no job when we got the house so they didn't put me on the mortgage. My husband is co signer on my car but I plan on keeping my car and paying payments on it. I have the same job I've had for 1.5 years, and it is in my educational field. My job is about 90 miles from my relatives house that I'm living at - one way. I am making the drive, as I only work 4 days per week, and I'm literally sleeping in my car for three of those nights until I can find a job where my relative lives.