• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

altered contract

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

M

moneyman100

I am a captive insurance agent in Missouri. 2 years ago I signed an agent appointment agreement with my insurance company. When I signed the contract, my name and the date the contract was to go into effect was left blank. 5 days later, the regional manager came in and signed the paperwork. At the same time, I signed another agreement stating that they would 'subsidize' my income by matching my commissions. At that time I signed 2 sets of the contracts and they kept both sets. A few weeks later, they mailed my copies to me. When I got my copies, my name and the Effective date had been inserted and a additional company had been typed into the contract (there were 4 companies before). Now, they may terminate my contract due to low production & say I owe them $20,000. I have 3 questions.

1) Since the contracts (especially the date and party to the contract) were altered by them after I had signed them, are they valid and will they win a lawsuit in court over the money?

2) Could I collect punitive damages against them for altering the contracts if they take me to court and I countersue them?