• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can Credit Union victimize the victim?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

E

emrjlr

I am a resident of the State of Washington. On 9/7/01 I found
myself to have been the victim of a very capable con man. In short, after a whirlwind 72 hours in this mans company, he had
completely convinced me of his financial mein and stability; thru
purchasing (seamingly) a new car, - one for me, one for him; also
by depositing 250,000.00 cash into my credit union account. I was sure it was safe after this to allow this man my PIN# to make
another deposit into my account. Needless to say, after failing to return at an appointed time, I discovered he had left town with my ATM and gas station cards in one of the would be purchased new vehicles out on a two day demonustation pass and was on a spending spree in the middle of the State. Discovered his ruse; I reported his fraud to me to my credit union, the police, and auto dealers. He has not been found. My questions lies with this; the credit union has initially returned over $1500.00 in false charges made by him, but then at the end of the week, has taken the money back out! I only discovered this by late nite check balancing; they claim that because I had given him my PIN#, therefore I was responsible for the loss. How can I challenge this and under what section of legal practice would I go to? I feel that there is an insuation that I was not legitimately conned or something. Thank you, emrjlr

racer72

The credit union is correct, you voluntarily gave him your pin #. Your only option will be to get your money back from the con man, wherever he is.

JETX