• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can I be sued for non-performance if client fires me?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

D

doobieME

Here's some quick background to my questions:

I work as an independent computer network consultant. I have had this particular client (a real estate attorney's office) for nearly two years.
Whenever their computers have had a problem, I simply go in and fix them. All this is done on a verbal agreement. I make no promises--but for a fee I fix the computers. The owner has always paid and agreed to my terms. It is all done on verbal agreement. She also realizes that often I do have a busy schedule. Recently, I had not been able to give her immediate support. However, I did fix computer-related problems except one--printing off the Internet--which she agreed was not extremely critical. At one point, I talked over the phone to one of her employees as to how to do the simply procedure; it is more than obvious that he along with the owner (and following her instructions) went further than what I recommended and this created "problems" on the server. In spite of this, I did tell the owner that I would try to find the time to fix her server but I could not do it right away.

On Tuesday, July 31, I showed up at her office to collect a payment she previously owed me and told her I'd be willing to fix her server the next Friday (Aug 03).