• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Car Title Not Notarized

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

krishna_vamsi

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? OH

Hi,

I am a Ohio resident and recently purchased a used car by paying a check.The seller signed the Title and gave it to me.I checked up with BMV ,and looks like the seller has to Notarize the Title before giving it to buyer.I have been trying to contact this seller and he is very adamant to Notarize the Title.He asked me to bring it to a bank and get it Notarized with out his presence.I want to take a legal action on this seller.Please advice me what legal actions i have.Appreciate your help.Thank you.

KV.

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? OH

Hi,

I am a Ohio resident and recently purchased a used car by paying a check.The seller signed the Title and gave it to me.I checked up with BMV ,and looks like the seller has to Notarize the Title before giving it to buyer.I have been trying to contact this seller and he is very adamant to Notarize the Title.He asked me to bring it to a bank and get it Notarized with out his presence.I want to take a legal action on this seller.Please advice me what legal actions i have.Appreciate your help.Thank you.

KV.
Have you actually tried transferring the car to your name?

krishna_vamsi

Actually i didn't visit the DMV sofar.I have to apply for the Title transfer and the registration.To apply for the Title transfer Ohio state needs the Title from the seller needs to be notarized.Any help for me?

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney