• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Do we have rights ?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

C

CoSergeant

I am a Law Enforcement Officer in the D.O.C. of Florida. My question is, I was in the local G.T.E. telephone directry under my first initial and surname only. I had asked G.T.E. back in 1989-90 not to put my street address in as it would make it too easy for current inmates and released inmates to visit me at my house and harm my family or myself. As you can amagine, we are not the most liked workers in the world. I have been threatened many times in the last 12+ years. Most of the threats are not real. My life was threatened only about 6 weeks ago for a Tunnel that was found inside the Prison. Getting to the point, G.T.E. did not publish my address as I asked, but last year when VERIZON took over they never asked or contacted me to see if I wanted to change the listing. I am now in the VERIZON book with my full street address! I realise that it's not hard to find someones address, but why make it easy for them. Drive by shootings happen all the time.
I first e-mailed VERIZON back in December of 2000 after the Telephone book came out, advising them of my displeasure. I received a tracking number and was told that I would be contacted soon by the Executive Customer Relations unit.
On January 8, 2001 after waiting 2-3 weeks for a reply I wrote a letter of complaint to the President
(name withheld) of Verizon Select Services in Tampa, Florida. (I have a copy of all letters that I have sent)
I received no reply, nor did my letter come back.