• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Dream Home Nightmare

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

alfoung

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? California

I am a retired engineer building a 2000 feet addition with my life saving. I was persuaded by a sweet talk constructor (unlicensed) who vowed to make the home a showcase. He brought in a licensed contractor as a partner and we entered a contract with the licensed contractor. The constructor serves as the construction manager on the job.

The construction started a year ago and still not finished. There were numerous stoppages of works and often only one or two workers showed up for a few hours. The manager claimed that he could not speed up the works because his partner refused to pay his crafts. The contractor claimed that he paid his partner enough money to do the job. It appears that I am caught in the middle of a partnership dispute.

I have paid 90% of the contract and thousands dollars more of extra works. Some of the checks for the extra works were paid to the manager directly upon his requests to pay his crafts. He claimed that he needed the money to pay his crafts.

We had a meeting with the contractor, who presented three illegitimate change orders, which I refused to pay. He also accused me for paying his partner direct. The contractor declared that he wanted no part of the job and we should have his partner finish it. The manager, who was not invited to the meeting, talked to me afterwards that he would contract with me to finish the job.

Questions:

1.Can I terminate the contractor for breaching of contract?

2.Can I hire his partner to finish the job?