• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Elance arbitration and rules for online arbitrators

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

guanxi

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Texas

I recently had a dispute with an Elance contractor who failed to complete a software project. After weeks of arguing with the contractor from India I was told by Elance support that my only option was to pay for arbitration from a company called net-arb. I don't have anything good to say about net-arb, and after doing more research on the web I'm beginning to smell something very fishy about that company.

I am not a lawyer, but I am very familiar with the small claims process. I have also been through mediation which I thought was a good experience in spite of not winning all that I was seeking. I call it a good experience because it was fair. So when it came to this online arbitration I was expecting to be treated fairly even though I did not win a single penny.

I don't think it would make sense to explain my entire dispute in detail because it is too involved and both sides have valid points. In brief, this is what it boils down to. I had a fixed-price project for $1500. The contractor ran into problems and asked me to escrow an additional $500. I agreed to provide that if all the original written requirements were met. In the end, those requirements were not met so I submitted an adjustment to the second escrowed amount. And of course the contractor disagreed. Thus the dispute.