• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

email agreements

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

P

p_henson

I've never used this before, so I'll do the best I can to be brief.

I'm in California. About 6 months ago, I broke up with my ex-girlfriend of 2 years. We had been engaged to be married. At the time of the break up, I offered to give her a little money every month until she got back on her feet. Well, her father turned the agreement around to me paying her back for purchases she had made for "us" on her credit card and paying back money she says she had in her savings account when we got together.

The majority of the purchases were for household items, furniture, etc. There was a few things which could be considered primarily "mine" such as a plane ticket for my daughter to come visit. The initial meeting to discuss this arrangement took place at there house, with my ex, her father and mother sitting on one side of the table a me on the other. I told them they could have all the furniture but he still thought I should have to pay for the difference between the purchase price and the current value or something like that. I was so upset at the time (it was a VERY awkward situation to be in), that I verbally agreed to look at the arrangement he came up with.