• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Fundemental Contract Law

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

The Dane

First of all I apologize, if my question is posted in the wrong category.

I’m a Danish law student and I’m writing my master thesis about Danish contract law with a comparative analysis of US contract law. More precisely I’m concerned with offers and acceptances. I’ve read E. Allan Farnsworth: “Contracts” 4th edition (2004) and I got some questions. I suppose they are pretty easy for you to answer :)

Farnsworth writes (on page 4) that a present sale is not a contract. If not the contract law what rules then govern the every situation where you go in to a store, pick something of the shelf and go pay for it (am I wrong in assuming that this is a present sale?).

When a shop keeper tags his goods with a price, is this considered an offer? and when I go in and put the goods on the counter wanting to buy them, is he obliged by the price tag to sell at the stated price? If not why and does his refusal have any other consequences for him? Does restatement of the law 2nd § 45 (or similar rule) make the price binding for the merchant because I have tendered the invited performance?

Is restatement of the law 2nd § 45 part of de lege lata? Doesn’t it make the notion that offers that only invite acceptance by performance can not be accepted by a promise some what illusory?

Does it make any difference if the buyer is not a consumer?

Are the answers to the above questions different in different states?