• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

heat pump warranty/installation - settle or sue?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

doriantm

I am out of pocket over $40,000, not counting attorney costs for a defective home heat pump installation and failure of the installing company to honor its full warranty which eventually forced me to replace the heat pump within the warranty period at an out of pocket expense of $30,000, and to back fill the improperly installed earth loop (by the said heat pump manufacturer's subcontractor) at an additional out of pocket cost of $13,000.

I have been paying attorneys for over two years to pursue this case while the heat pump company has been filing multiple motions for summary judgments and reconsideration (without success) in attempts to delay.

Now my attorney says that he wants to explore an out of court settlement, which is fine with me except that he says that he may not be able to recover even half what I am out of pocket due to the heat pump company's negligence/malfeasance. He also basically said that recovering for attorney's fees in court wasn't possible, and this is a concern because they are becoming substantial. I would like to know if he is right or wrong about that, for one thing.