• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

help about contract law study!!!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

I

ivy_white

What is the name of your state? New York
I am a student of business law studies. I have got a case study of contract law. I've no idea about it. I need some help about it.

Lisa owns a late model computer. but Lisa wants to pay her student loan and so she decides to sell it. She thought her friend Tom might want to buy it. Tom knew all about Lisa's computer as he had used it to do his assignments when he was at university.

On 1 April Lisa wrote and sent in the mail a letter to Tom. It said:
" I need to sell my computer-the ome you used last year for your work. I am selling it for $1700.00. If you want to buy it let me know by 8 april. If I don't hear from you by 8 April I will have to sell it to another buyer. The printer is not included as I want to keep it for my dad."

On 3 April Tom received Lisa's letter. That night he wrote to Lisa. His letter said: " I would like to buy your computer but the price is a bit high. I accept your offer if the printer is included for the same price. Please confirm this is in order."

As soon as Tom had written his letter he took it to the mail box and posted it.

Meanwhile on the night of 2 April Jenny(who is a friend of Lisa) went to see Lisa. Lisa told Jenny she was selling her computer. Jenney looked at it and told Lisa she would buy it in $1850.00 without printer. Lisa was happy about this.

Early the next morning(3 April) Lisa wrote anotherr letter to Tom, It said: "Forget the letter I wrote to you a couple of days ago about the computer. There is now someone else who is going to buy it."