• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Help! Hostage Situation (seriously but with data)

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

leewells2000

I am in North Carolina, but the server in which I have been running for over 4 years is at a company's data-center in California. The company name in question is CalPop.com

I'll explain whats happened, because this entire situation feels very wrong, and frightens me that this is able to happen to people if it is really legally unchecked.

I am a member of an organization that plays games online for fun and we communicate using a website often. We wanted to upgrade that communication to Voice Over IP (VOIP) by utilizing a free software called TeamSpeak. The problem is, the software is free, but finding it out there as a Free Service is rare and service is extremely "bouncy" to stay the least.

Our financial sponsor decided that he would get us a dedicated server to run all of this on. He paid over $1,800.00 for the first year of this hosting plus the cost of the server itself. Within 24 hours we had problems with the server but this guy knew as much about technology as you would expect an ant to know about astrophysics. So he told them that I would be the technical contact (just so I could be in the loop and have permission to access anything about the account that was of "technical" nature.

That issue did get resolved. We had several other issues during that time and suggested to this guy, Richard Hupp (financial guy and owner of the server + account) that we should move elsewhere because of the plague of problems. He said that was fine but let that contract run its term being it was non-refundable (paid by the year).