• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Help! I'm stumped!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

I am a real estate broker here in beautiful California. A couple of years ago, I took a course in "real estate contracts". I was taught, at that time, that I must provide a copy of ANY and ALL papers that are part of a real estate contract to a buyer or seller after they have signed them (the copies could either be carbon copies or xeroxed copies).

Well, if this is the case for real estate, does the same rule also apply to any other type of contract in the state of California?

If a person asks me to sign a contract for services, is that person legally obligated to provide a copy for me?

Thanks,

WW:D

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE

My response:

No.

Some contracts in California are even "Oral" contracts. Those are perfectly legal contracts in this State.

The only time a contract must be in writing, and the parties are legally required to exchange copies, is when it is mandated by Statute.

Real Estate contracts are specifically mandated by Statute to be in writing, and that copies are acknowledged by each party to the contract.

IAAL

IAAL,

Thank you for responding (and so quickly, I might add)! Your answer wasn't what I wanted, since it doesn't help my particular situation.

At least I know that I will have to pursue other avenues (gather as much evidence as I can, witnesses, etc.) to prepare for my case. I'm up against some pretty unethical rats.

Thanks again. You are very helpful.

Respectfully,

WickedWahine

LegalBeagle

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE said:
Well, that's why FreeAdvice pays me the big bucks !