• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Negligent Vehicle Inspection

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Anna8080

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? FL

1. Test drove 2010 vehicle. Drove vehicle to get pre purchase inspection.

2. Purchased (pre purchase) complete vehicle inspection from Firestone location (A). Vehicle passed inspection with "no symptoms" notated on the service invoice. Service advisor stated that the car was in good shape for the milage. I have a witness.

3. I purchased vehicle based on the positive inspection results and my visual inspection. I am not an automotive expert. A warranty was not available form dealer. Purchase price $5000

4. Within a few days I incurred major issues with the vehicle.

5. I then took the vehicle to a different Firestone location (B). I did not mention I purchased the vehicle and I asked for a pre purchase inspection. Same inspection as the first.

6. The results from the 2nd inspection were extremely negative with $3000 in repairs. I was advise to not consider purchasing the vehicle due to the severity of repairs.

Results

1. Left Lower Control Arm Joint
2. Right & Left Tire Rods
3. Shocks and Struts
4. Cooling System Hoses
5. Alignment
6. Dirty fluids – Oil Change
7. Tire sensors missing
8. Extensive Rust​

Do I have a case for a lawyer or small claims?
Can I take a franchised / corporation to small claims?
Do I have Cause of Action since there were blatant misses of repairs?
Do I contact Firestone first with Letter of Demand? Those are expensive.

Any direction would be appreciated. Thanks for reading.

adjusterjack

Do I have a case for a lawyer or small claims?