• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Proving a digital signature in a small court

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Wilson2012

If I have a consumer client sign a contract electronically (e.g. using Adboe echosign or whatever) then how is something like that proven in court?

I'm a photographer in Pennsylvania and am thinking about having people sign model releases electronically and perhaps even have my clients sign contracts electronically.

I'm not thinking about a huge corporate case with multiple attorneys and expert witnesses. I'm, rather, thinking about a $5,000 law suit at a small county court or a small claims.

More specifically, I'm imagining a judge who, in the past, has been used to looking at a contract and comparing its signature it to the client's driver license or another document. What do I present to the judge's satisfaction? Is that judge likely to have experience with electronic signatures? How's that judge going to prove a digital signature to his/her satisfaction?

Thanks!

sandyclaus

If I have a consumer client sign a contract electronically (e.g. using Adboe echosign or whatever) then how is something like that proven in court?

I'm a photographer in Pennsylvania and am thinking about having people sign model releases electronically and perhaps even have my clients sign contracts electronically.

I'm not thinking about a huge corporate case with multiple attorneys and expert witnesses. I'm, rather, thinking about a $5,000 law suit at a small county court or a small claims.