• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Teacher/Dept of Education verbal agreement

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

L

leighz

I am a middle school teacher in the state of Tennessee. When I interviewed 6 years ago for my teaching job, I was told by the Director of Personnel, the Director of Schools, and the building principal that if I accepted the position, my children would be allowed to attend the elementary school (which is attached to the middle school in which I teach) and then the middle school where I now teach. My oldest child is now going into the 8th grade (classes begin on Monday). I have been told that most likely she will not be able to attend the middle school in which I teach,and which she has attended for the past two years, this school year because the 8th grade is overcrowded and the county refuses to hire a new teacher to relieve the overcrowding. My question is this: would the verbal agreement/contract presented and accepted when I was hired for this job 6 years ago (that I would be able to keep my children in the school where I teach) hold up in court? Thanks in advance for any advice!!

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE

leighz said: