• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Timeshare what's money

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

J

jsnfltn

What is the name of your state? Indiana

First I just want to say that this is my first time at this site and I think this site is great.

OK, about 2 years ago my wife and I went to Gatlinburg and goit sucked on to attend Westgate timeshare meeting. I said no and got into a argument with the sales guy. Then him and another person offered us a different packaged. $600 and a week stay at their resort and 50% off of cruises for I think 3 years. We also declined because I was so mad at them. I just wanted my money for attending ($120). They said you have to sign here and if you change your mind within the next 6 months the offer still stands. I sign without reading to get out of there.
I received one phone call a year later about my payments I was not making (did not know I bought anything). I explained to them what happened, and I supervisor was suppose to call me back, they never did. Now I collection agency is trying to collect $941.40.
I do not have a copy of the contact and had asked Westgate for a copy and they refused to send me one, the guy from the collection refused as will, but after several phone calls they are suppose to send me one.

If I did sign this can I get out of it? Do they still have to offer me what's in the contact? Does this fall under duress?

Any help would be great, like I said I think this site is awesome.

Thanks

J

jsnfltn

If anyone can help me with this that would be great, PLEASE!!!.