• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

American website using photo without permission

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mllxlbw2

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? New York

I am a photographer resident in England. A well known American website headquartered in New York used one of my photos without permission. They flipped the photo but otherwise made no changes (and did not credit me as the photographer). The photo is used in an article on their website and I can tell by the date of the article that it has been online for over 2 years. The only place they could have obtained the photo is my website (which is clearly marked as copyright), or another website which I gave permission to use the image.

I am familiar with English law copyright principles. However, I know nothing about US copyright law, save that as a general principle, it seems the US courts take copyright infringement more seriously, and typically award higher damages, than English courts.

My question is whether the US courts would exercise jurisdiction over my case in circumstances where the website in question is headquartered in New York, and if so what principles would be used to assess damages due to me?

Thank you in advance for any assistance.

quincy

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? New York