• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

California Association Of Realtor's-Preprinted Contracts-No Fair Use?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

BeautifulPuzzle

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

I am a licensed real estate agent in the state of California and a member in good standing of the California Association of Realtors (CAR).

The California Association of Realtors creates and makes available preprinted contracts and other forms that are copyrighted. These forms are available free to union members or for a small fee to members of the public.

I would like to be able to reproduce these forms online in order to be able to explain these forms or answer questions about them from potential clients and interested members of the public for educational purposes only.

I asked the California Association of Realtor's staff attorneys if this were possible.

Their response was that (CAR) forms cannot be reproduced for any purpose other that to be filled out by a buyer or seller and used as part of a real estate transaction.

I find this very hard to believe...

--------------------------------- QUESTION ENDS HERE/SUPPORTING INFORMATION BELOW---------------------------------

This is from the CAR Website:

Introduction