• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

can I use the initials of a school on an unofficial website?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

P

piknikie

What is the name of your state? Oklahoma

I am a student at a major university in Oklahoma. Our campus is not located in the city where the "Big" university is -- so, we are apart of a "DISTANCE LEARNING" program.

As an elected officer for our class (Historian) - I have purchased a domain name that has the initials of the school (for example: www.OSUmuskogee.com - this isn't the name-- just an example) I did this so that we could post pictures of events that we (the student body) are apart of - such as community service, teach projects etc. I built the "unofficial" website - and emailed the students that they could print off the pictures from there.

Here is the problem: I am catching flack now - because the name of the school is on the website - I have been asked NOT to represent the school on the website - Did I waste my $$ on a site that I cannot use? The students do not have a problem with it -- it is the "higher ups"

Please note: I didn't copy the logo of the school - I used a paint program and typed in the letters that are used to make up the logo - they look similar - but I have our town's name incorporated into the .jpg

P

piknikie

in addition to my first post

my initial question should be: Can I have a site that has the school initials and my towns name after?? Like the example I gave above: www.OSUmuskogee.com ??

thanks for any advise/feedback

racer72