• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Copyright & "Facts?"

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

B

blakcat74

What is the name of your state?

Washington State.

From a writer's perspective, I was wondering... since "facts" cannot be copyrighted and true-life book(s) were written on a subject or person, can anyone use those facts from the book(s) as long as the "written expression" is not copied word for word?

Does that also apply to "facts" on copyrighted websites?

Thank you.

[email protected]

V

Veronica01

blakcat74 said:
can anyone use those facts from the book(s) as long as the "written expression" is not copied word for word?

In general yes.

M

marubear

I'm not a lawyer. But, I did finish law school and I recently sat for a bar exam and will soon be sitting for a bar exam in a second state. I did take a copyright law class and I did copyright law research for a professor.

At any rate, this is not legal advice.

But, there are a lot of things to consider about your post:
1) Distinguishing fact vs. expression. It's not always a clear cut line.
2) Is a "fact" from a true crime book (for instance) actually a fact? (Sometimes, these are fabrications or slight fabrications that may involve some degree of originality of expression, hence potential copyrightability.)
3) Facts may be protectible if what you copy is the selection and arrangement of the facts, if the selection and arrangement of the "facts" which you pulled from a certain text involved some sort of creativity. Feist v. Rural Telephone.
4) Facts may be protectible under state law (law of misappropriation).