• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Creative commons & "Publicity rights"

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Lorin

I'm a video editor working on a project for Brentwood-Benson (Christian) music publishing. The end product, a DVD, will be sold to a couple hundred churches in the US for use in their worship services. The theme is kind of "things that are wrong with America that call for a return to Christian heritage. " So, much of the images called for are those showing homelessness, people protesting bailouts, etc. I also needed images of people praying, singing in church settings, reading the bible, etc. Images like this don't really exist on stock photo/video websites. However, they can be found on sites like flickr by people specifiying their photos as under the "creative commons license" (standard attribution license). I've used many of these photos, keeping careful notes with links and the author names to use on a credits page on the DVD. However, the producer is now worried about this part of the creative commons license:

Other Rights — In no way are any of the following rights affected by the license:
Your fair dealing or fair use rights, or other applicable copyright exceptions and limitations;
The author's moral rights;
Rights other persons may have either in the work itself or in how the work is used, such as publicity or privacy rights. See below or click link
Notice — For any reuse or distribution, you must make clear to others the license terms of this work. The best way to do this is with a link to this web page.

What are "Publicity Rights"?