• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Custom Jewelry Artist and Copyright Laws

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

kgkelsey

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? South Carolina

I am a jewelry artist that hand-stamps on jewelry items. I am trying to find out if there are ANY names, words, phrases or saying that I cannot use. People want phrases from their favorite TV or movie characters, names of shows, names of bands, lyrics from songs. Hell, if the words exist, they will put them on jewelry.

My second question is about a signature jewelry line that I would like to create and copyright. I took a phrase from a song that was written and sung in late 40’s early 50’s and copyrighted the phrase that I will hand-stamp and sell on my jewelry. First, I want to make sure that I can use the phrase and second I want to be able to make it my own and prevent other jewelry designers and artists from using it.

Since my jewlery is custom made to order and I am not COPYING any images just words and phrases, I want to make sure it is legal before I proceed.

Mass_Shyster

I took a phrase from a song that was written and sung in late 40’s early 50’s and copyrighted the phrase that I will hand-stamp and sell on my jewelry.
I doubt that your copyright is enforceable, and your use may violate the copyright of the song.

You may be able to license the phrase from the song copyright holder, but I don't know if that would give you standing to sue another jeweler for using the phrase.

Some of the senior members may be able to tell you more.

I really think you need your own attorney.

kgkelsey

Thanks for your response

Thanks Stevef.