• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Derivative Works

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

shannonsuzanne

What is the name of your state? Kentucky

There is plenty of info out there about derivative works if you want to sue someone for infringement. However, there isn't anything out there to answer my question. I am a photographer and I do digital photography and manipulations in Photoshop. My question is, when is a change in a photograph that is registered considered a derivative work of the original photograph? Even the copyright office seemed kind of clueless when I tried to ask. I recently sent in my first "collection" of photographs before I published them, but now I am wanting to change a few of them by manipulating the colors and adding filters.

I know that croping and color adjustment/correction are probably not derivatives because that would be kind of stupid. But, what if I take a picture of a flower and register it and then later decide to turn the grass red is that enough of a change where I have to file again? Do I even need to file again since the original is mine and is registered? I'm only concerned because I have a website where the pictures are for sale and I don't want to leave anything unprotected. I copyright my pictures more for my protection than my ability to sue someone if that makes any sense.

Most of these posts are helpful, but they talk about 'creativity' being a major role in the deciding factor. I don't really see some of the stuff I do as being creative. Other people do. It's open for interpretation.