• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Digital Recording and Ownership - Recorder vs Recordee

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

geekay2

(Washington State, US)

I am a software/game programmer and college student, with not but two nickles to rub together... However I am getting close to completion on a project that is a sure-fire winner.

With that said, in this project I hope to get the free help of a friend of mine to do some voice recording (and depending on your answers, maybe a great number of my other friends too).

If I record him (For example from my microphones on my computer), who owns the Copyright of the digital recording? (my understandings are everything that you create you gain an automatic copyright, and then you will want to register the copyright with the US. However when one is paying for an original work, they are granted the copyright of that work. (please correct me if I am wrong), How does this work for a donated work or work done for free?... I am probably barking up the wrong tree, any help is greatly appreciated... also if my recollection serves me, copyright/fair-use/derivative-work operates a little different if the content in question is of a human being... I think I remember reading that somewhere...) ok, im rambling now...

If your answer to the above is: both of us, or that I have a partial copyright, then if I use this recording in this project, and I make a truck-load of money, do I need to give him some?

I would think that getting a written understanding prior to recording is a must, but I simply don't know the legality of writing down: "Anything you record is MINE! (muah ha ha!)".