• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Disclaimer for an App

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Ranadhir

Hello All,
I'm developing an App, through which illustrators/creators can distribute their own comic books for free and other readers can download the books for free as well. I don't want anyone to distribute comic books that don't fbelong to them or they don't have right to distribute them. Even if they do, the app doesn't hold any liability for that. How can I write a disclaimer for this.
I'm a developer and don't have any knowledge in this law domain. My apologies if the question seems irrelevant. Any help will be highly appreciated.

quincy

Hello All,
I'm developing an App, through which illustrators/creators can distribute their own comic books for free and other readers can download the books for free as well. I don't want anyone to distribute comic books that don't fbelong to them or they don't have right to distribute them. Even if they do, the app doesn't hold any liability for that. How can I write a disclaimer for this.
I'm a developer and don't have any knowledge in this law domain. My apologies if the question seems irrelevant. Any help will be highly appreciated.
Are you in the US, Ranadhir? If so, what is the name of your state? If not, what is the name of your country?

For help in writing a disclaimer, you should sit down with an IP attorney in your area. We cannot assist with that on this forum.

As a note, though: Disclaimers do not prevent lawsuits. They can only work to mitigate damages in the event of a lawsuit (which is reason enough to have them).

Ranadhir

Thanks for the answer