• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Ex-Web Master Being Threatened/Harrassed

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

M

mirrorlady

From California: I am an amateur web designer who designed a web site for some friends approx. 1 year ago. They paid me $300 for the site and extras I did for them. There was no written agreement; the verbal agreement was: They would place a link to my design site on each of their pages and upload changes as they occurred. In exchange, they would allowed me to link to their site from mine (as part of my "portfolio"). For about a year they were happy with the results. Then we had a huge falling out. They secured another web master who changed all the original file names (which meant the spiders could no longer find them, and they were dropped from most engines). However, results of a search still pointed people to my graphics site.

I no longer wanted to bring them any business, so I removed the actual link to their site and "cloned" their site, uploading it to my own domain. I blurred their pics and changed important numbers (phones, licenses, etc.). It was some of my best work and I wanted to keep it on my domain to show my specific talents. I made sure their site could not be found by viewing my "cloned" site.

They are ignorant about web sites and how search engines work. They accused me of maliciously forcing the engines to point to my site rather than theirs. They said that blurring their photos defaced his wife and defamed the character of him and his business.