• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

"Growth Coach" - trademarked, but can I use it as a job title?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

eb63

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Colorado

Hi there, I am a business coach and marketing strategist. I have been evaluating my offerings and settled on a description for my services that feels very much like it describes what I do: Growth coach. I help small businesses & the entrepreneurs behind them grow, in a monetary and emotional sense.

Sounded very generic to me and I assumed it would be a common job title, like "life coach" or "success coach". Then I looked it up and saw that "Growth Coach" is a trademarked business name for business coaching & consulting.

My business is 100% operated under my own name. Is it illegal for me to put "Growth coach" next to my name as a description of who I am and what I do? Would I be infringing on their copyright if I use it generically like that?

Thank you for your help.

quincy

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Colorado

Hi there, I am a business coach and marketing strategist. I have been evaluating my offerings and settled on a description for my services that feels very much like it describes what I do: Growth coach. I help small businesses & the entrepreneurs behind them grow, in a monetary and emotional sense.

Sounded very generic to me and I assumed it would be a common job title, like "life coach" or "success coach". Then I looked it up and saw that "Growth Coach" is a trademarked business name for business coaching & consulting.