• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

How far can a "Common Law Trademark" protect you? Help needed.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Basikboy

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Illinois

I have a Graphic T-Shirt business and recently I was hit with a Cease and Desist on my personal website and my Ebay selling account. The T-Shirt design in question is "This Guy Needs A Beer" which also has to thumbs gesturing towards the person wearing the T-Shirt. Well the company that sent the Cease and Desist has a Trademark for "This Guy". Now I have been selling this design since 2008, admittedly I never had it Trademarked but according to their mark I was using this slogan far before they were and I have sale receipts to prove it. Not only did i receive a Cease and Desist, my best selling avenue Ebay has sent me a warning now and threatened my selling privileges if this happens again! I need to know If I can fight this somehow and have the strike from Ebay removed as well.

I just now found out "This Girl" has also recently been trademarked. I have had a "This Girl Needs A Beer Design" since 2008 as well so I may have to fight this as well. Any help and or feedback is much appreciated. Thank you for your time!

justalayman

Is the c and d from Alternative Building Systems? That is who appears to own the phrase when associated with the thumbs pointing gesture.

here is a link to a site that explains your rights fairly simply.

http://www.fr.com/prior-user-vs-federal-registrant--whose-mark-is-it-anyway1/