• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

I was asked to cease and desist

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

G

grafiti

What is the name of your state? Indiana

2 years ago, I started my freelance web design business here in Indiana. I registered my business name locally as, 'Studio 545', but I didn't trademark it. I have been using the name since June of 2001 (have the papers from the court house showing I registered it), and it looks like the company below filed for registration on April 12, 2002 (according to the US Patent and Trademark Office info I pulled up on the web). I obtained the domain name studio545.com back in June of 2001, and have renewed it since then. My understanding is domains are first come first serve.

Monday I got this email (see below) from a man who owns a company called '545 Studios' in Australia. I wasn't sure if I had recourse, if this letter is legitimate, etc. I have built up a bit of notoriety with my company name, I have invested in purchasing the domain, business cards, letterheads, and advertisements. If it looks like I could be legally sued, I will tuck my tail between my legs and accept it. But if it looks like I have any pull against this company, I wouldn't mind trying to fight it - unless big bucks are involved - I couldn't afford that.

Any suggestions?

Kristi

------The letter I recieved ------------------------------------------
Please be advised that 545 STUDIOS PTY, LTD. has learned that
you are infringing apon its copyrighted and trademarked materials available on the Internet, and that you have stablished a World Wide Web site which is infringing on such material(s)