• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Intellectual Rights and Writing

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Lori B

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? I live in Iowa

Hi. I have a question about something I've written. I am an author working on getting several of my manuscripts traditionally published. I was approached 4-5 months ago by someone who had seen my writing. She asked if I'd be willing to write a series she had a concept for. She sent me a text, giving me a one paragraph, very generic description of her concept. There was no plot line, no character names or character profiles. It was more a one line concept followed by how she planned to market and promote it. I didn't love the concept because it's not the type of thing I normally write, so I asked her if I could play around with the concept and change some things. I came up with a three page (typed, single spaced) detailed concept with character names and profiles as well as a detailed summary of the progression of the series. She liked it more than her concept and told me to write it. I've written a little over 37,000 words of the series (that equals about 110 double spaced typed pages). Every word I've written is my own. Ever character I've created is my own. I have emails and texts that can prove that I've written everything. I've had beta readers who've read every word I've written as I've been writing it.