• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

International copyrigth dispute (a bit tricky)

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

roadstar_bg

Hello, guys, a little advice here.

Short story : i am an film editor, based in Germany and worked with producers from the UK on a TV series production, that is been shot in the US. That was last year. I still haven�t been paid. I did a rough cut and sent them a preview. They never said anything, just delaying. There is no contract, but there are Facebook messages from one of the producers, stating the budget for the pilot i was supposed to edit and so on emails with instructions, i have the raw footage, the script for the whole season etc. I also have screenshots of them, in case they decide to mark them as spam over Facebook.

BTW... There is no NDA signed whatsoever. And there is no TV network behind the production. It�s an independent thing and the producers want to sell it on some platform like Netflix. For my part i doubt it very much, that it will make it anywhere, because the production is very low quality. But that is not so important.

So, earlier this year i asked if i can use some of the the footage for my showreel, so i at least have something out of it. Same producer gave me a go and said it should be not a problem. It should be just password protected until it airs. I told him i am going to put it on Vimeo and make some promotion in Facebook groups for networking with other film people. He saw the message, but didn�t decline or respond.