• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Legal Recourse for Sites Using My Images Wihout Permission

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Snow33

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? MI

Hello! I was wondering if I have any legal recourse when websites use my photographs without permission.

I'm an amateur photographer and I post my photographs on my website and other places, as well as use my images on products that I sell in my online shop. I'm having an increasing problem of people stealing my photos and using them however they please. For places like Facebook or someone's dopey blog, I simply serve DMCA notices and have the images removed. My concern is with more "legitimate" websites--the kind with staff/employees, whose goal is to attract visitors and members to make money from their advertisers. Typically, they ignore my request to remove my images. Even more galling is when they have put THEIR watermark across my photo. So what can I do then? They have no right to use and profit from my work, some of which have won awards/contests and that I sell myself.

Thanks for any advice you may have!

Last edited by a moderator:

quincy

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? MI

Hello! I was wondering if I have any legal recourse when websites use my photographs without permission.