• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Logo usage in album artwork

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Apmusic

I'm in Illinois.
My question is this. I'm a musician currently writing an album entitled "canvas shoes" and I created a logo based on the converse chuck Taylor logo. The text is all changed but the majority of the logo design is similar. This album is clearly not a competing product. does the fact that I borrowed design elements fall under fair use or is it trademark infringement?

FlyingRon

Converse is likely to argue that there is still a liklihood of confusion or dilution of their famous mark. **** owns them now and they've been pretty aggressive. Putting circles on the side of the shoes is probably safe. Using a STAR in the circle, even without the words Converse, Chuck Taylor, or All Star, probably is asking for trouble.

quincy

I'm in Illinois.
My question is this. I'm a musician currently writing an album entitled "canvas shoes" and I created a logo based on the converse chuck Taylor logo. The text is all changed but the majority of the logo design is similar. This album is clearly not a competing product. does the fact that I borrowed design elements fall under fair use or is it trademark infringement?
Since last year alone, Converse has filed 22 trademark infringement lawsuits against 31 companies. They are not shy, in other words, about taking legal action against those using their famous logo without their authorization.