• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Movie titles as song titles?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

DavidElliot

Hello! I am an aspiring musician in Europe and I need some advice.

I do a genre of music called "Nerdcore". I sing and rap about geek-related subjects like science fiction, fantasy, and gaming. I've written and produced an entire album and I'm getting ready to release it and sell it online.

A good deal of the songs, and Nerdcore, in general, pay homage to science fiction films. I use some of the movie/series/game/book titles as song titles, but the lyrics are mine. I reference some specific character names and places in the lyrics, but I don't lift quotes directly from the media to which I'm paying homage.

Here are the titles that match up exactly to the films/book/game/tv series:

"Dune"
"Firefly"
"The Fifth Element"
"Ghost in the Shell"
"Blade Runner"
"Dungeons and Dragons"

Can I legally sell these songs? Will I be infringing on copyright or trademark if I use movie/book/game/tv series titles as song titles? I would prefer not to change the titles of the songs, but I understand if it's necessary.

I would appreciate any advice you have.

FlyingRon

Titles (either movie, book, or song) are not protected by copyright.

You very much can have issues with the trademarks. A lot of movie companies are extremely litigious when it comes to their marks.

quincy

Hello! I am an aspiring musician in Europe and I need some advice.

I do a genre of music called "Nerdcore". I sing and rap about geek-related subjects like science fiction, fantasy, and gaming. I've written and produced an entire album and I'm getting ready to release it and sell it online.