• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Nom De Plume/Fraud

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

U

ubercool

What is the name of your state? Texas

I am an artist (painter) and I am generally know for my attention to detail in my figurative work. However, I have seen how much money can be made by doing much simpler abstract/decorator art. Rather than get my name confused with that brand of art, I've decided to market the abstract work that I do as a different artist's work. Thus I've come up with a nom de plume, as it were, and I am signing these abstract works with a different/fictitious name. My question is: "How far can I go with creating this fictitious character/painter before it spills over into what might be considered fraud?" I am considering creating a website for this character in order to market his work. Part of the website would be a page about this character's background and his schooling. Am I leaving myself open to charges of fraud? Are there any laws on the books regarding fraud as it concerns a nom de plume? If I've posted this question in the wrong area, please let me know where I should post it....Thanks!

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE

ubercool said:
What is the name of your state? Texas