• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Original sports related artwork

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

RandomArtist

I'm an artist & I have an idea I'm working on to create a set of original sports related art using the colors of sports teams & the name of the city/school/team relating to those colors. I'm not talking about using any logos or already existing artwork; just the colors & words, in my own original styles of painting. An example could be a black & yellow/gold based painting with the words "Pittsburgh" "Steelers" or both incorporated in it. Another could be orange & blue painting with "Florida" "Gators" or both in it. Again it would not include any already existing logos or images. This would ideally open up to all sports, not just football or professional sports. If someone wanted the same thing done to hang in their kids room because they are on their grade schools baseball team, I'd make it for them.

Would the creation of such original artwork for sale to the public cause any copyright or trademark issues? It's not like in making jerseys or sports related equipment; nor would I be claiming to have created or own such team names used in the works. These are just works of art for the enjoyment & use of the buyers in their homes/offices/whatever.