• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Part of Name Trademarked?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

BryanK97

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? New York

Because I can't seem to find this using the search.... Maybe you can help me. :)
Here's my sample scenario: (forget the rest that you know regardless of who owns what)

Lets say Im looking to trademark XYZApparel. However, in this circumstance "XYZ" is trademarked by another Apparel company.
Is it illegal to trademark a name that is already (partially) Trademarked by another company of similar class.

I apologize if this is a Noob Question, but I am a noob and new to everything trademark.

*I was recently attacked for trademark infringement, so you could say I am a little gunshy...

Thanks a lot for your assistance.

ecmst12

You won't be allowed to trademark a name that might be confused with another established trademark. Since it's the same industry, your name would definitely be an infringement.

BryanK97

You won't be allowed to trademark a name that might be confused with another established trademark. Since it's the same industry, your name would definitely be an infringement.
Yeah thats kinda where Im at currently (which is why I'm changing my name)

Maybe i should have used a more general example...

Lets say "AlphaFit"....
In this case "ALPHA" is reserved in every way thinkable. But "AlphaFit" is not...

Dose combining the word with another "general" word cause trademark infringement?

The word I am looking to utilize has been used before with many other classes, but when I combine it with a word of my own... to create a new word, is that problematic.