• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Photography & Copyrights (3 different questions)

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

emartin

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? CA

I am a new photographer and have 3 questions as it related to copyrights.

1) If I take a photo of something well known, can I sell it? For example, I took a creative picture of one of my kids "Thomas the Tank Engine" toys. People have asked for a print. By law, am I allowed to print and sell it, or does it violate copyright/trademarks?

2) Some of my photos were Creative Commons (CC) licensed and I recently changed to All Rights Reserved (ARR). What does that men for those who used it under the CC license. I assume that the license in effect when they used the image still apply?

3) My last question is in regards to displaying ARR images. I am using the Flickr API to display images with a certain "tag". My understanding is that as long as I only display thumbnails, link back to the site of the original image and not claim the images as my own work, that I am free to do so. Are there any other restrictions, like not being able to have ads on my site?

Anyway, thanks for any tips or information you can provide!

FlyingRon

1) If I take a photo of something well known, can I sell it? For example, I took a creative picture of one of my kids "Thomas the Tank Engine" toys. People have asked for a print. By law, am I allowed to print and sell it, or does it violate copyright/trademarks?
You might, you might not. Good treatment here:

Photos of Trademarked and Copyrighted Works