• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Photography portfolio - use in a kickstarter video

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

hbutt

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? New Jersey

I'm a photographer living in New Jersey and do most of my work (99% of it) in Manhattan. I'm creating a kickstarter campaign to that'll need to showcase my work. The work is primarily focused around headshots and is used to showcase my portfolio. I've been looking around the internet and I sort've feel like I'm in the clear, as the photos of the individuals in the video are strictly for portfolio purposes, but I just wanted to check with you guys on the matter.

Thanks so much
Joe

quincy

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? New Jersey

I'm a photographer living in New Jersey and do most of my work (99% of it) in Manhattan. I'm creating a kickstarter campaign to that'll need to showcase my work. The work is primarily focused around headshots and is used to showcase my portfolio. I've been looking around the internet and I sort've feel like I'm in the clear, as the photos of the individuals in the video are strictly for portfolio purposes, but I just wanted to check with you guys on the matter.

Thanks so much
Joe
You have given up on your parody idea?

Whenever you are photographing identifiable individuals, you risk having those individuals object to your use of their images. I recommend you get "model releases" signed by the people you plan to picture on your site, prior to thoughts of publishing the photos.

hbutt

You have given up on your parody idea?