• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Questions about copyrights for Independent Contractors

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Arkisaeo

Hello all.

I work as an independent contractor/freelance and an issue recently came up, involving an ex-client of mine, and I'm not sure what to do about it (or what my options even are).

Back in 2011, this guy became my client. He wanted me to write a bunch of articles about pet care for his blog, which I did.
I stopped writing for him last summer.

Now, the issue:

I recently discovered that he copyrighted all the content I wrote (word for word) under his name, and had it published as a book.

From what I understand about copyrighting, since I am the original author of the content, I should be the owner of the content.
I also understand there is a "work for hire" issue, which is where I am confused.

In the time that I wrote the blog posts for him, there was never any "work for hire" agreement, nor any agreement that he would be allowed to copyright or take credit for content he really had nothing to do with.
He also had very little control over the work done. In fact, the most he could really do was set the weekly hourly limit and that was it. He had no control over the actual schedule of hours worked (ex. he couldn't make me work from 10 am to 5 pm everyday, "or else!"), he had no control over taxes, or benefits, or anything else.

So, I'm wondering, is there anything I can do about this? And if so, what can I do?

The way I see it, as an independent contractor, the content should be mine, and it seems as if he essentially stole it.