• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Quoting Politicians from Newspaper stories

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

vsaint

I am writing a book for commercial sale but this is my first time doing so and I have questions about Fair Use.

Are quotes politicians have made to news reporters covered under Fair Use for commercial purposes?

If not, how do I find out who is the owner of the quote because often the same quote is used in numerous newspapers due to many reporters being present.

Also, at the beginning of each chapter, I would like to use a quote from a famous person in the past. It seems that if the quote was made prior to 1922, I can use it without an issue.

If after 1922, do I need to actually seek out the owner of the rights to these quotes?

Thank you for the help!
V

quincy

vsaint, fair use is a tricky area of copyright law, because fair use is only a defense to an infringement suit and not a reason to use or permission to use someone else's copyrighted material. A court determines whether a use is fair or not, this after a user of someone else's copyrighted material is sued for infringement by the copyright holder.

A court bases their decision on whether a use of copyrighted material is a fair use or not on several factors. Commercial use of another's copyrighted material is one factor looked at, and commercial uses are generally less likely to be considered by a court as a fair use of copyrighted material.