• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Regarding a Story and Emails

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Finnegan

Hi, I hope some people here can be of help.

I am a romance writer. For 10 months I was with someone. While talking one day the subject of my writing and our love story came up. I asked him if he would like me to write it to which he replied yes. I have this in writing. Unfortunately, we have parted ways. I have informed him that I plan on going forward with the story and he did not ask me not to or object. Again, I have this in writing.

My question is what exactly his "yes" allows me to do.

Can I appropriate his likeness?
Can I use his emails? I will remove personal information. They will be slightly rewritten to avoid any concern of plagiarism. I will also be adding a few things as I expect the story to be 50% real-50% fiction (to keep the story moving forward and to appeal to readers).
Is using the emails an invasion of privacy?

I would just like to have my bases covered before I get started on the story. I'd hate to get it fully written and find out I can't publish.

Thanks!!

LdiJ

I am a romance writer. For 10 months I was with someone. While talking one day the subject of my writing and our love story came up. I asked him if he would like me to write it to which he replied yes. I have this in writing. Unfortunately, we have parted ways. I have informed him that I plan on going forward with the story and he did not ask me not to or object. Again, I have this in writing.