• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Release Forms

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

F

ftjakson

I am curious as to the validity of release forms. I am an actor by trade and am frequently asked to sign a release form releasing me from any right to pursue monentary compensation for contributions and collaborations. I have never signed these agreements as I value my intellectual property. How binding are the agreements (I have posted a sample agreement below) Should I created a counter agreement and have it signed before working on collaborations? or should I just stay the course and not sign anything the requests exclusive use of my ideas?

I understand that you will be writing a book, script, monologue or series of monologues which you wish to use in connection with a dramatic production whose subject will be male related issues (the "Project"), and that you wish to (i) interview me for the Project, (ii) have me attend and/or participate in discussions, workshops, showcases or readings (together, “Meetings”) regarding the Project, and/or (iii) have me submit stories or other writings (together, “Writings”) which relate to the Project.