• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Seeking advice about protecting my ideas/IP

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

paladin55

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? South Carolina

Edit: As the thread title states, I'm looking for actual, detailed advice, not yes/no lists. If you're going to answer my questions, please do elaborate and leave some detailed answers that both answer my questions as well as give me some advice about how I should proceed.

Hello! I'm basically a poor artist/writer who's been working for several years on developing a very detailed fictional setting to be used both in novels and video games. As most artists and writers would be, I'm very protective of the IP I've created and I'm very concerned with it being stolen when I start releasing stories and games online.

Profit is not a priority for me in this, in fact, the main reason I want to protect my work is from those who would only care to use my IP for profit. I definitely plan on having a lot of free releases.

I realize good ideas are pretty easy to come by and there's 7 billion other people out there that may (and probably are) better at world building, writing and game design than me... and that I probably don't have too much to worry about realistically. However, this doesn't ease my fears in the slightest. I'm just a writer that wants to tell my stories and share my world with others while using some mediums I highly respect... without some larger company or random scam artists coming along and stealing it all away from me.

I currently live in the U.S. but my game and story releases would probably be done mostly online.

My Questions: