• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Shooting video in a location, didn't get a release, can I use the footage?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? WV

I'm a videographer, and I'm shooting my first feature film. It's extremely low budget. We essentially gave the roll of "assistant director" to the renter of the property that we spot a good portion of the film in. She recently became very upset about shooting conditions, and has been sending me messages telling me about how angry she is. Most recently she sent me a message saying she is revoking all rights for us to use the footage shot in that location, and if we release the film with that footage intact, she'll have the landlord sue (remember, she rents). I assume there's no legal basis to any of this. She's not the property OWNER, and she was, originally, a part of production, but has just recently changed her mind. I just thought I'd get a solid answer. Should we have any concern for using this footage? As predicted, this isn't some blockbuster film, anyway. It's a low-budget film that'll be shown at a few festivals, and released to DVD. No one is being paid, for acting or for crew positions.

quincy

Can you use the footage? Yes.

Should you use the footage? It depends.

There are so many factors that are looked at with videotaping and publishing that it would take an attorney's review of what exactly you shot to determine whether you face legitimate legal risks by using what you have already filmed.